Swipe Right For Objectification

*This was taken from another blog. However, I am the original author so I’ll add it where I please, i.e. here lol. 

Online dating, or as I know it: The Place Where I’m Constantly Saying No to Sex and Then Being Called A Bitch For It. 

Yup, that about sums it up.

Apparently having an online profile on ANY* dating site means that I am actively looking for sex and I should be flattered and immediately say yes any time anyperson shows any interest. A 12-year-old who lied and said he was 30, yup I totally have to be flattered. A 42-year-old who decided to ignore the fact that I am not looking for anyone past the age of 33, yup, time to drop trou. Someone who is within the age range I’m looking for but not at all in possession of any of the traits I’m looking for in a partner, nope doesn’t matter, I should still comply and if I don’t I should be ready to expect a slew of names thrown at me.

What. The. Fuck.

I’m not saying that this doesn’t happen in the real world. However, in the real world there’s usually alcohol involved, it plays out over a few hours not a few minutes, and there’s usually security involved if the guy gets a little nasty.

Not online. Online no one knows if you’re made out of cups. And in that same sense, no one is supposed to know who you really are so it’s ok to be an asshole right? Wrong.

It’s not that hard to figure out who some of these people are. A little digging and reverse image search can lead you to these dudes social media pages and voila, we have a name for the douchebag. I’ve actually seen Tumblr pages dedicated to calling people out on their assholery.

I’m not trying to find my Prince Charming online. Hell, I’m not even looking for him in real life. I’m just looking for someone to maybe casually date. And no matter how you phrase it, it seems that every single dude that has contacted me has been only after one thing. Sex. I’m no prude and am never opposed to a good hookup session, but when did online dating become the speedy checkout line to one-night stands?

I’ve tried HowAboutWe, Tinder, PlentyOfFish, and OkCupid. A friend suggested that if I tried a paying site like Match or something, maybe I’d be confronted with a decline in jerks. I’d actually hate to find that because these people are paying a premium every month, that they’d suddenly feel more entitled to demanding sex.

Ladies and gentlemen, simply because a person is on an online dating site DOES NOT mean they are looking for sex. Don’t resort to nasty name calling when they say no. I’ve blocked a few dozen users just so they wouldn’t come back and keep calling me names.

Some people say they’re looking for someone to date and no more than a few texts in and they’re already asking for pictures. I can assure you, no one is asking to see my dog doing tricks or what I ate that day. I’ve always been pretty lame when it comes to sexting, even with boyfriends. Now these are people I’ve never met before and will probably never get around to meeting and they want to see what it looks like where the sun don’t shine? Uh, I don’t think so.

If I complied, at least 200 or so dudes out there would know what my tidbits looked like. I don’t get what’s so appealing about nudes and if that’s whats hindering my ability to find someone to casually date, so be it. It used to be that someone wouldn’t want to marry you if you weren’t a virgin. Now it’s to the point that no one wants to date you if they first haven’t seen your hoohah on an AMOLED screen. Most guys I talk to lose interest after a few days and fall off the face of the earth. I guess there’s only so much you can talk about after your request for nudes has been denied. I don’t blame them if all it’s going to take is a few more swipes before they find someone with an entire collection of upskirt shots that they’re more than willing to share.

Who cares about compatibility and chemistry, I’m just gonna start carrying a wallet sized collage of my goods and when dudes try to talk to me, I’ll whip it out immediately to save them the hassle of talking to me a few minutes before asking for it.

I kid obviously, I’d rather three separate photos instead of the one collage. That way I can really highlight my features.

Lmao.

*I said any but I can’t say that for certain. I have had or currently have accounts on Tinder, HowAboutWe, PlentyOfFish, and OkCupid.

Categories: Just Because | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

