Are you happy?

As humans we have somehow learned to always feel like we are missing something. The grass is always greener on the other side and there’s always something better out there for us.

Is this a universal thing or belonging solely to the land of the free and home of the brave?

I once congratulated a friend who had recently gotten married by telling him I was happy he had settled down. He rejected my message and told me he refused to say he has settled because it demoted his wife from the amazing being she is to nothing more than a runner-up.

When we ask people if they’re happy we don’t do it expecting them to say yes, we ask because we’re certain that they’re not and we just want to hear them say it out loud. When did we learn that happiness was simply unattainable?

Because of my age and my singleness, I constantly am seen as unhappy. As if my level of happiness can only rise so high on my own, I couldn’t possibly level up until I have a partner.

I have learned over the years that you can’t rely on anyone to bring you happiness, it has to come from within.

Am I totally single? Yes.
Am I going to keep being single? Probably for a while.
Am I happy? Hell yes!

More than happy, I am content, my own constant state of peaceful happiness. I am totally and completely satisfied with every area my life. I may not be exactly where I’d like but there’s no need to stress about it because I know I’m working to get there.

Categories: Just Because | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

